Trials or Tequila?

In the last two days I have heard two great comments from two friends that have deeply impacted me. Today I was having an email exchange with a mom of one of our teens at church. Her mother has been in the hospital twice in the past three months and continues to endure pain. All of this, plus the normal stresses of raising a teenage son and juggling a career, has put a great deal of pressure on this lady.

In my email exchange with her, she told me what God had revealed to her while visiting with her mother in the hospital. “He [God] showed me how I can still say that there is no place I would rather be. Why? Because even though I don’t understand all of His purposes, He has brought me to this place, which means that He is with me. I’d rather be in mom’s hospital room with Him, than on a beach some where with a bottle of tequila in my hand declaring that I’m ‘having fun’.”

Wow! What a perspective on pain and suffering and the presence of God! Here’s a woman who has learned to “be content in all circumstances” (Philippians 4:11). She would rather spend one day in the courts of God than a thousand anywhere else (Psalm 84:10). This is a woman who doesn’t fear bad news, but puts her trust in the Lord (Psalm 112:7).

Is that how you view God in the midst of pain and suffering? I’m not sure I always do. If you had the choice of trials with God or tequila with your friends, which would you choose? May God help us to see His presence in our lives, no matter what the circumstances around us look like. And may God give us strength to choose Him, even if pain and suffering accompany Him.

~ by hawkman64 on August 25, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
